The Tomatis listening program

Listening Programs at the Tomatis Institute
A person coming to a TOMATIS Center for the initial visit is asked first to complete an Audio-Psycho-Phonological Assessment or BAPP (Bilan Audio-Psycho-Phonologique). This assessment lasts approximately one and a half hours.
The BAPP includes the following:
  • An anamnesis or personal history of the individual
  • A certain number of tests (laterality test, listening test)
  • An in-depth consultation for the purpose of clarifying the motive that prompted the client to initiate this process ( problem to address, objective sought) as well as the listening potential of the individual
The BAPP, thus, will enable us to assess the listening potential, to determine any malfunctioning of this potential and to evaluate the motivation of the individual (or of the family when a child is the client). It is indispensable in determining if audio-vocal training is advisable.

The audio-vocal training program will depend upon the nature of the problem to be addressed; the number and frequency of listening sessions mediated by the Electronic Ear will differ from one person to another, according to the re-educational goals decided upon. Throughout the program, tests, mini-tests, and consultations take place at regular intervals and track the progress of each client.

A provisional budget is established the day of the BAPP. The cost of the program may be financed, in whole or in part, by certain insurance companies or by a training organization.

The training program is made up of a certain number of listening sessions, each lasting half an hour. In order to be most effective, these sessions are rather closely scheduled together. At the beginning, the listening sessions often take place every day or at least several times per week, typically for two hours per day. Several training programs may be necessary. These are shorter than the initial program and come after a pause of several weeks.
The listening sessions are called either "passive" or "active".
  • During passive sessions, clients can simply relax and allow themselves to be transported by the desire to listen. They may listen while drawing, for example, in which case the hand, directed by the vestibule of the ear and by the thought processes as well as stimulated by high frequency sounds, will visually express some memories and become creative in the use of form and color.
  • During active sessions, clients repeat words and sentences in a booth. In both cases, whether recorded sound or repeated words, the sound is processed by an Electronic Ear designed to produce the TOMATIS Effect and delivered through a headset that contains earpieces for transmitting sound through the air and a vibrator that permits sound to be conducted through the bones.
The listening material is carefully prepared in our own laboratory. It is basically composed of the following:
  • the mother's voice filtered in order to enable the client to immerse himself once again in the intrauterine universe, the source of the desire to listen
  • children's songs
  • the music of Mozart, especially those works that are the richest in high-frequency overtones and are, thus, energy producing
  • Gregorian Chant, the rhythm of which is soothing
Outline of a typical audio-vocal training program using the Electronic Ear in a TOMATIS Center
  • BAPP (Audio-psycho-phonological assessment)
    • Length: one to two hours *Adult alone or child accompanied by parents
    • Personal history
    • Tests
    • Interview/consultation
  • First program of listening training
    • Length: 15 days *two hours per day (four half-hour listening sessions)
    • mini-tests and consultations within the session
    • test and evaluation at the end of the session
  • Subsequent training programs
    • after a pause of three to six weeks
    • Length: 8 days *two hours per day
    • test and evaluation at the beginning and end of the session
Adjustments may be made to this typical program in certain cases; even so, it must be kept in mind that audio-vocal training mediated by the Electronic Ear must allow the client to utilize his listening potential to the greatest extent by enabling him eventually to function on his own; that is, not only to maintain his skills but also to continue to progress without retraining. This autonomy can be achieved only by a conditioned audio-vocal reflex, and intensive listening sessions are necessary in order to produce this reflex. Concentrating the listening sessions within a short period brings about better results and thus represents a considerable saving of time in the long run.

Also, during the sessions, the careful monitoring made possible by the tests and interviews enables the consultant to evaluate progress. The individual, or the parents in case of a child, may discuss his experiences and take advantage of these interviews by asking questions that will enable him to understand better what is happening during the listening sessions mediated by the Electronic Ear. Similarly, judicious advice may be offered in order to facilitate the client's opening up to family and within social relationships.

In certain cases, a recording of the mother's voice may be found to be necessary, primarily for children and adolescents, but sometimes also for adults. The recorded voice will be treated in a laboratory in order to be presented to the client under conditions close to those existing in a liquid environment, that is to say, those experienced "in utero". In many cases, this important phase reawakens the desire to listen and, therefore, facilitates the audio-vocal training. The mother's voice is recorded before, or at the beginning of, the first session.

Finally, when the client is a child, it is usually desirable for the mother at first, or the father at the time when the language phase begins, to engage in some companion listening sessions. This companion listening will serve the purpose of helping parents understand what audio-vocal training with the Electronic Ear is like while at the same relieving the stress they may have experienced because of the child's problem. Further, the child himself accepts the listening sessions better when he feels that he is accompanied by his parents; consequently his progress is faster and more obvious.

 
ENGLISH : FRANÇAIS : DEUTSCH
 
 
    Home
    Pedagogy
    Language Coaching
 
 
 
 
 
 
Imprint

La demarche Tomatis

Séances d'écoute dans l'institut Tomatis
Toute personne venant consulter pour la première fois dans un Centre TOMATIS est invitée à faire tout d'abord un Bilan Audio-Psycho-Phonologique (BAPP, durée environ 1h30).
Ce BAPP comprend notamment:
  • En premier lieu une anamnèse où l'histoire du sujet est retracée.
  • La passation d'un certain nombre de tests (test de latéralité, test d'écoute,…)
  • Un entretien approfondi avec un consultant permettant de bien cerner le motif de la démarche (problème exposé, but recherché) et les potentialités du sujet.
Le BAPP, qui va donc permettre d'évaluer le potentiel d'écoute, d'en repérer les dysfonctionnements et d'apprécier la motivation du sujet (ou de la famille quand il s'agit d'un enfant), est indispensable pour déterminer si une éducation audio-vocale doit être conseillée.

Les sessions dépendront bien sûr de la nature du problème à résoudre ; le nombre et le rythme des séances sous Oreille Electronique seront donc différents d'un client à l'autre, selon la démarche engagée. Tout au long de ces sessions, des tests, mini-tests et entretiens de contrôle ont lieu à intervalles réguliers et ponctuent la progression de chacun.

Un budget prévisionnel est établi le jour du BAPP, et son financement peut faire l'objet, selon les cas, d'une prise en charge plus ou moins importante par certaines mutuelles ou par un organisme de formation.

Un certain nombre de séances d'une demi-heure chacune composent les sessions ; ces séances, pour être efficaces, sont en principe groupées à un rythme relativement intensif: dans un premier temps, les séances ont souvent lieu sinon tous les jours, en tout cas plusieurs fois par semaine, à raison de 3 à 6 par jour . Plusieurs sessions peuvent s'avérer nécessaires , venant toujours après un temps de pause de plusieurs semaines ; ces sessions sont plus courtes que la première.
Ces séances sont dites soit "passives", soit "actives":
  • En séance passive, le sujet peut en réalité se décontracter et se laisser tout simplement porter et gagner par l'envie d'écouter…il peut le faire en dessinant, car la main se laissant aller, elle sera animée par la mise en route vestibulaire et la pensée, stimulée par les fréquences aiguës, laissera échapper quelques souvenirs et deviendra créatrice de couleurs et de formes diverses.
  • En séance active, le sujet répète des mots et des phrases en cabine . Dans les deux cas, l'écoute de sons extérieurs ou de sa propre voix se fait au travers d'une Oreille Electronique à Effet TOMATIS, et d'un casque de précision pourvu à la fois d'oreillettes permettant la conduction aérienne et d'un vibrateur spécifique permettant la conduction osseuse.
Le matériau sonore à écouter est soigneusement préparé dans nos propres laboratoires, et il est composé à la base essentiellement:
  • de la voix maternelle filtrée permettant au sujet de replonger dans l'univers intra- utérin, siège du " désir " d'écouter.
  • de comptines enfantines.
  • de musique préférentiellement de Mozart, et notamment des œuvres les plus riches en harmoniques aiguës et porteuses d'énergie.
  • de Chant Grégorien qui, par son rythme apaise.
Schéma type d'une démarche d'éducation audio-vocale sous Oreille Electronique dans un centre TOMATIS
  • Bilan audio-psycho-phonologique (BAPP)
    • Durée: 1 à 2 heures pour un adulte seul ou un enfant accompagné des parents
    • Anamnèse
    • Tests
    • Entretien
  • Première session
    • Durée: 15 jours à raison de 2 heures par jour (soit 4 séances)
    • mini-tests et entretiens en cours de session
    • test et contrôle en fin de session
  • Sessions suivantes
    • Reprise après 3 à 6 semaines de pause
    • Durée: 8 jours à raison de 2 heures par jour
    • test et contrôle de début et de fin de session
Bien entendu, ce rythme type peut être aménagé en fonction de la spécificité de chaque cas ; toutefois, il convient de bien comprendre que l'éducation audio-vocale sous Oreille Electronique doit permettre au sujet d'utiliser au mieux son potentiel d'écoute en le rendant surtout parfaitement autonome, c'est-à-dire à même non seulement de maintenir ses acquis mais également de continuer à progresser. Cette autonomie nécessite qu'un conditionnement audio-vocal, sur un mode réflexe, ait été créé, et pour ce faire la concentration des séances est indispensable: elle permet en fait d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats en les consolidant, ce qui représente un gain de temps considérable.

D'autre part, durant les sessions, le suivi réalisé grâce aux tests et aux entretiens permet au consultant d'évaluer les progrès accomplis ; le sujet peut en effet exprimer son vécu et en profiter, lui ou ses parents quand il s'agit d'un enfant, pour poser toutes les questions qui lui permettront de mieux comprendre le travail qu'il fait sous Oreille Electronique. Par ce biais, des conseils judicieux peuvent également lui être apportés afin de faciliter son épanouissement familial ou social.

Par ailleurs, dans certains cas, un enregistrement de la voix maternelle peut s'avérer nécessaire, la plupart du temps pour les enfants et les adolescents, mais parfois aussi pour des adultes ; la voix sera alors retraitée en laboratoire, afin d'être restituée au sujet dans des conditions sonores proches de celles existant en milieu liquidien, c'est à dire vécues " in utero ": cette phase importante permet dans bien des cas de redonner au sujet le désir d'écouter qui ne pourra que faciliter le travail d'éducation audio-vocale. Cet enregistrement de la voix maternelle se fait avant ou au début de la première session.

Enfin, dans le cas où le sujet est un enfant, il est la plupart du temps souhaitable que la mère dans un premier temps, puis le père dans un second temps quand on aborde la phase de langage, fassent eux mêmes des séances d'accompagnement . En effet, cette démarche leur permet à la fois de mieux comprendre en quoi consiste l'éducation audio-vocale sous Oreille Electronique, et d'évacuer le stress qui est souvent provoqué par la problématique de l'enfant, objet de la consultation ; en outre, l'enfant lui-même accepte beaucoup mieux les séances quand il se sent accompagné par ses parents, et ses progrès n'en sont que plus manifestes et plus rapides.

 
ENGLISH : FRANÇAIS : DEUTSCH
 
 
    Home
    Pédagogie
    Language Coaching
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mention d'impression