The founder

Dr Alfred Tomatis, founder of the Tomatis Method
The Tomatis Method takes its name from its founder, Doctor Alfred TOMATIS, born on the 1st of January 1920 in Nice and deceased on the 25th of December 2001 in Carcassonne, a famous French doctor, an ENT specialist at the Paris Faculty of Medicine and a specialist of hearing and language difficulties. He was the son of a famous singer, Humbert TOMATIS, a lyric bass at the Paris Opera, allowing him from an early age to become familiar with the world of music and opera. This double training, first that of his family background then his medical training, was to play a considerable role in the Alfred TOMATIS's professional orientation, who, very quickly, developed a passion for the relationship between the ear and the voice.
To properly understand Alfred TOMATIS's method, it should be known that he was above all an excellent clinician whose major concern was the care of his patients, whether in hospital or at his own practice where the hard of hearing and singers in difficulty, often friends of his father initially, came to consult him. His extraordinary intuition and his thousands of clinical observations, related to his research on work-related deafness carried out for the Ministry of Labour, the Ministry of Air and the Marine, allowed him to establish the relationship existing between hearing and phonation, and by extension between listening and communication.

This irreplaceable clinical approach enabled him, over the years, on the one hand to perfect an apparatus named by the press of the time as the "Electronic ear", capable of re-educating the voice by educating the ear, and on the other hand, at the same time make explicative hypotheses of his clinical observations, which came to constitute the "Tomatis effect".

These hypotheses were summarised in three laws which formed the subject of papers given at the Paris Faculties of Medicine and Science in 1957 and 1960; these laws can be expressed as follows:
  • The voice contains only what the ear hears.
  • If the hearing is modified, the voice is immediately and unconsciously modified.
  • It is possible to durably transform phonation when auditive stimulation is maintained over a certain time.
The Electronic ear, for its part, was officially presented during the World Fair in Brussels in 1958, and earned its inventor the Gold Medal for Scientific Research, then, in 1962, the "Grande Medaille de Vermeil" of the city of Paris.

For the following two decades, through successive touches, and never drifting away from clinical observation in which he excelled, Alfred TOMATIS built up what today has come to be known as the Tomatis Method, a true discipline founded on a certain number of presuppositions concerning the way in which the human subject develops, processes information, communicates with him or herself and others, and, finally, learns.

This discipline, of which certain aspects are brought together under the term Audio-Psycho-Phonology, is situated at the crossroads of human sciences, and, as its founder ardently desired, remains, more than ever, in constant development. Its extreme richness stems from the fact that it neither replaces nor competes with any established science, but quite the contrary enables to optimise the positive aspects of the other disciplines dedicated to the assistance and the evolution of human nature, whatever their form: it is for this reason that the users of the Tomatis Method, which have been more and more numerous throughout the world since the end of the 1970s, are always professionals recognised in their speciality.

Finally, Alfred TOMATIS, who, outside of his career as a clinician and a conference speaker, also had the opportunity to teach for many years at the School of Anthropology and the School of Psychologist Practitioners in Paris, as well as at Universities in the English-speaking world, left us numerous books, articles and interviews, of which certain are translated into different languages, allowing us to better understand the basis of the Tomatis Method.

 
ENGLISH : FRANÇAIS : DEUTSCH
 
 
    Home
    Pedagogy
    Language Coaching
 
 
 
 
 
 
Imprint

Le fondateur

Dr Alfred Tomatis, fondeur de la méthode Tomatis
La Méthode Tomatis tient son nom de son fondateur, le Docteur Alfred TOMATIS, né le 1er janvier 1920 à Nice et décédé le 25 décembre 2001 à Carcassonne, célèbre médecin français, oto-rhino-laryngologiste de la Faculté de Médecine de Paris, spécialiste des troubles de l'audition et du langage ; il était lui-même le fils d'un grand chanteur, Humbert TOMATIS, Basse-Noble de l'Opéra de Paris qui, très tôt, lui a permis de se familiariser avec le monde de la musique et de l'art lyrique : cette double formation, d'abord familiale puis médicale, jouera un rôle considérable sur l'orientation professionnelle d'Alfred TOMATIS qui, très rapidement, se passionnera pour la relation existant entre l'oreille et la voix.
Pour bien comprendre l'approche d'Alfred TOMATIS, il faut savoir qu'il était avant tout un clinicien hors pair dont le souci majeur était de soigner ses patients, aussi bien à l'hôpital que dans son propre cabinet où malentendants et chanteurs en difficulté, au début souvent des amis de son père, venaient le consulter ; son intuition hors du commun et ses milliers d'observations cliniques, liées à ses recherches sur la surdité professionnelle menées pour le Ministère du Travail, le Ministère de l'Air et les Arsenaux, lui permirent d'établir la relation existant entre l'audition et la phonation, et par extension entre l'écoute et la communication.

Cette approche clinicienne irremplaçable lui a permis au fil des années d'une part de mettre au point un appareil dénommé par le presse de l'époque " Oreille Electronique ", susceptible de rééduquer la voix en éduquant l'oreille, et d'autre part, dans le même temps, d'émettre les hypothèses explicatives de ses observations cliniques, et constitutives de l'" Effet Tomatis ".

Ces hypothèses ont été résumées en trois lois qui ont fait l'objet de communications aux Facultés de Médecine et des Sciences de Paris eu 1957 et 1960 ; ces lois peuvent s'énoncer de la façon suivante:
  • La voix ne contient que ce que l'oreille entend.
  • Si l'on modifie l'audition, la voix est immédiatement et inconsciemment modifiée.
  • Il est possible de transformer durablement la phonation par une stimulation auditive entretenue pendant un certain temps (loi de rémanence).
L'Oreille Electronique quant à elle, a été présentée officiellement lors de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles en 1958, et a valu à son inventeur la Médaille d'Or de la Recherche Scientifique, puis, en 1962, la Grande Médaille de Vermeil de la Ville de Paris.

Durant les deux décennies qui ont suivi, Alfred TOMATIS a bâti, par touches successives, et en ne s'éloignant jamais de l'observation clinique dans laquelle il excellait, ce qu'il est convenu d'appeler aujourd'hui la Méthode Tomatis, véritable discipline fondée sur un certain nombre de présupposés concernant la façon dont l'être humain se développe, traite l'information, communique avec lui même et avec autrui, et enfin apprend.

Cette discipline, dont certains aspects sont réunis sous le vocable d'Audio-Psycho-Phonologie, se situe au carrefour des sciences humaines, et, comme l'a ardemment voulu son fondateur, demeure plus que jamais évolutive ; sa richesse extrême tient au fait qu'elle ne remplace ni ne vient jamais en concurrence d'aucune science établie, mais bien au contraire permet d'optimiser les aspects positifs des autres disciplines dédiées, sous quelque forme que ce soit, à l'aide et à l'évolution de la nature humaine : c'est la raison pour laquelle, les utilisateurs de la Méthode Tomatis, de plus en plus nombreux à travers le monde depuis la fin des années soixante-dix, sont toujours des professionnels reconnus dans leur spécialité.

Enfin, Alfred TOMATIS, qui outre sa carrière de clinicien et de conférencier, a eu l'occasion d'enseigner durant de nombreuses années à Paris, dans le cadre de l'Ecole d'Anthropologie et dans celui de l'Ecole des Psychologues Praticiens, ainsi que dans des Universités anglo-saxonnes, nous a laissé de nombreux ouvrages, articles et interviews, dont certains traduits en différentes langues, nous permettant de mieux comprendre les fondements de la Méthode Tomatis.

 
ENGLISH : FRANÇAIS : DEUTSCH
 
 
    Home
    Pédagogie
    Language Coaching
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mention d'impression